Mozambique's Only Marine National Park
Bazaruto Archipelago

Mozambique's Bazaruto Archipelago is made up of just five small islands: Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Santa Carolina and Bangue. The archipelago is the country's only marine national park, created to protect its endangered dugongs and marine turtles and their respective habitats. Spinner, bottlenose, humpback and striped dolphins can also be found in Bazaruto, and leatherback, loggerhead, green, hawksbill and olive ridley sea turtles inhabit the coastline, while humpback whales use the calm waters as breeding grounds during the winter months.